I'm forever grateful for the recognition
Saturday, 30 March 2013 01:07

Joe Scully - 5-time ORA Mick Flick Award Recipient Joe Scully - 5-time ORA Mick Flick Award Recipient

The Ontario Rodeo Association presents an award annually in honour of Mick Flick, a New York State cowboy who spent a lot of time in the Ontario Rodeo Association as an avid competitor, and transitioned to also become a stoic judge. Tragically, Mick was diagnosed with cancer in August of 1972, and fought for 27 months until his passing in November of 1974. Since his passing, the award in his honour has been presented 39-times to 29 different recipients..  It's awarded to the "Cowboy Most Representative of the Sport of Rodeo" by the Membership selecting the nominees and the ORA Board voting on the recipients.

At the Ontario Finals Rodeo in Ancaster I accepted this award for the 5th time.  It was not expected, though my appreciation is great.  

To be nominated repeatedly by my peers in the Sport is an honour alone.  To be chosen by my peers on the political side is an indescribable distinction.  When working in service of our membership the only solstice that is afforded is believing you are delivering their interests, accomplishing forward growth and setting precedent for future generations to enjoy.  As I have seen, as many that support your views and decisions will balance with those that disagree... and the minority have the larger voice.  

When I accepted the roles I handled, it was not to win awards or to gain popularity, or lose it for that matter.  It was to contribute to a Sport that has offered me great opportunity, and guided me through life with value and enrichment.

I enjoyed this tenure.  It was challenging at times, rewarding at times.  What I enjoyed most was the passion that matters were presented with.

To be recognized is truly an honour, and I wish to thank all of the Boards that have selected me for this award, in addition to the many that have submitted my name for the ballot. There are many that share my passion for Rodeo, the Political Right, and a strong Ontario Rodeo Association, and I look forward to seeing their names emblazoned on this award as well.

Thank you.

1974 Tim Koelln
1975 John MacKenzie
1976 Jerry Kinsella
1977 Barry Ellis
1978 Fred MacKenzie
1979 Eric DeGroote
1980 Joe Alexander
1981 Gaylon Smith
1982 Barry Thomson
1983 Barry Thomson
1984 Don Lawrence
1985 Rick Parker
1986 Bill Leggette
1987 Bill Leggette
1988 Terry Dunk / Marcel Rivard
1989 Marcel Rivard
1990 Terry Dunk
1991 Paul Cooper
1992 Joe Leggette
1993 Joe Leggette
1994 Bob Baker
1995 Neil Roberts
1996 Steve Hallman
1997 Greg Hines
1998 Ross Millar
1999 Ed Walls
2000 Ross Millar
2001 Joe Alexander
2002 Steve Fisher
2003 Ken Doner
2004 BJ Prince
2005 Ed DeWetering
2006 Joe Scully / Alex Dunseith
2007 Joe Scully
2008 Joe Scully
2009 Jake Walker
2010 Joe Scully
2011 Rick Parker
2012 Joe Scully

View/Make Comments on this Article